Eurasia Regional Section of the World organization "United Cities and Local Governments"

European comission

The European Commission is the executive body of the European Union. It is responsible for implementing decisions of the Union, monitoring of law compliance in member states and, if necessary, bringing actions in court in case of violation of membership obligations.

It consists of 27 commissioners who are appointed for 5 years by common agreement of member state governments. There should be at least one representative from each member state in the Commission.  The members though are bound to represent the interests of the EU as a whole rather than their home state. All proposals of the EU must go through the Commission. Representatives of the Commission have the right to participate in the discussion of proposals in all eligible EU bodies.

UCLG takes part in the programme of the European Commission “Local authorities in development”.

Official website - 


Back to the list