Eurasia Regional Section of the World organization "United Cities and Local Governments"

Who we are?

The World Organization “United Cities and Local Governments” (UCLG), as a global network of cities and local, regional, and metropolitan governments and their associations, is committed to representing, defending, and amplifying the voices of local and regional governments to leave no-one and no place behind.

UCLG is the most powerful and influential inter-municipal and inter-regional cooperation organization in the world. The United Nations recognizes UCLG as the main partner in working with local governments. On the initiative of UCLG, the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development includes Goal 11: Sustainable Cities and Communities.

Bringing together more than 240 000 municipalities, regions and metropolises from 140 UN countries, UCLG represents the interests of more than 70% of the world’s population. Through participation in UCLG, local leaders bring people’s needs and realities at the highest level.

The World Organization of UCLG consists of 7 regional sections, Metropolitan Section and UCLG Forum of Regions. By right, the International Association “United Cities and Local Governments of Eurasia” (UCLG-Eurasia) is among the most successfully developing sections, which represents the interests of local and regional governments of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Mongolia, which is 1/6th of the landmass and about 300 million people.

The uniqueness of UCLG-Eurasia is its globality, as we are part of the World Organization of UCLG, which allows our members to be at the global negotiating table.

The headquarters of UCLG-Eurasia is located in the city of Kazan. Its President is Ilsur Metshin, Mayor of Kazan..

Евразийское региональное отделение Всемирной организации «Объединенные Города и Местные Власти»

Кто мы?

Всемирная организация «Объединенные Города и Местные Власти» (ОГМВ)  –  это глобальная сеть муниципалитетов, мегаполисов и регионов, а также их объединений, созданная в 2004 году для укрепления роли местных и региональных властей в процессе принятия глобальных решений.

ОГМВ является самой мощной и влиятельной в мире структурой в сфере межмуниципального и межрегионального сотрудничества. Организация Объединенных Наций признает ОГМВ в качестве главного партнера по работе с местными властями. По инициативе ОГМВ в Повестку дня ООН по устойчивому развитию на период до 2030 года включена Цель №11 – Устойчивые города и населенные пункты. 

Объединяя более 240 000 муниципалитетов, регионов и мегаполисов из 140 стран ООН Всемирная организация ОГМВ представляет интересы более 70% населения планеты. Через участие в ОГМВ местные лидеры выносят нужды и реалии людей на обсуждение за глобальным столом переговоров. 

Всемирная организация ОГМВ состоит из 7-ми региональных отделений, отделения мегаполисов и отделения регионов. По праву, в числе наиболее успешно развивающихся – Евразийское отделение, представляющее интересы местных и региональных властей Азербайджана, Армении, Беларуси, Грузии, Казахстана, Киргизии, Монголии, России, Таджикистана, Туркменистана, Узбекистана, Украины и Монголии, а это 1/6 часть суши и около 300 миллионов человек.

Штаб-квартира Евразийского отделения находится в городе Казани. Президент Евразийского отделения ОГМВ – Мэр Казани Ильсур Метшин.